Posted by: Haley Hastings | February 26, 2010

Recommended: T/F picks from a film studies professor

Shared by Joanna Hearne, assistant professor of English and Film Studies at MU. The Missourian is featuring reader contributions all weekend. If you’d like to submit your photos, stories or reviews, send them to submissions@mymissourian.com.

I’m seeing everything in the Missouri Theater. I’m particularly excited about the True Life Fund film, “Enemies of the People.” Raising funds for a specific cause in conjunction with a powerful documentary is one of the unique things that True/False does; I don’t think this happens at any other film festival.

I’m also planning to take my eight-year-old son to see “Colony.” And as a fan of animation I’m interested in “Waking Sleeping Beauty.” I got to view the opening minutes of “Kati with an I” when director Robert Green visited my Documentary Film History course this morning — it looks like a beautiful, intimate film, a “small story” about the awkward beauty of small-town American teenagers.

Leave a Reply

Categories

